

## 2014 CUTR Transportation Achievement Award Honors Florida Senator Jim Sebesta

**TAMPA, FLA (July 16, 2014)** – The Center for Urban Transportation Research (CUTR) at the University of South Florida (USF) is pleased to announce that its 2014 Transportation Achievement Award will recognize Florida Transportation Commissioner and former State Senator Jim Sebesta at CUTR's annual Transportation Achievement Awards event on October 22, 2014 at the Embassy Suites Tampa-USF.

Senator Sebesta served in the Florida Senate from 1998–2006, representing District 16 (Pinellas and Hillsborough counties). During his tenure, he focused on transportation issues, serving as Senate Majority Whip and as Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee. He also served as vice chairman of the Energy and Transportation Committee set up by the National Conference of State Legislatures.

He has been recognized by numerous organizations for his commitment to the Florida community, including the Tampa Bay Partnership, Chair's Cup for Excellence in Regionalism; the Florida Bankers Association, Outstanding Leadership and Commitment to the State of Florida Award; AAA, Legislator of the Year; Florida Automobile Dealers Association, Legislator of the Year; and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce Chairman's Award.

Senator Sebesta received an MBA from DePaul University and a degree in business from Loyola University. He has been married to Jean Sebesta for 57 years and has 6 children and 12 grandchildren.

The CUTR Transportation Achievement Award is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to transportation. Previous award recipients include:

- A. Wayne Rich, former Chairman, Orlando-Orange County Expressway Authority (2013)
- Jose Abreu, former Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation and Director, Miami International Airport Director (2012)
- Florida Senator Malcolm Beard (2011)
- Ben Watts, former Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation (2010)
- Florida Senator James T. Hargrett, Jr. (2009)
- Bob Burleson, President of Florida Transportation Builders' Association (2008)
- James Ely, former Executive Director of Florida's Turnpike Enterprise (2007)
- K. Earl Durden, Chairman, CEO, and Director of Rail Management Corporation (2006)

- U.S. Representative John Mica (2005)
- David Brown, former chair of the Florida Transportation Commission (2004)
- Don Crane, former President of Floridians for Better Transportation (2003)

## **About CUTR**

Established in the USF College of Engineering in 1988 by the Florida Legislature and the Florida Board of Regents, CUTR is an internationally-recognized resource for policymakers, transportation professionals, the education system, and the public. CUTR provides high-quality, objective transportation expertise in the form of technical support, policy analysis, and research support that translates directly into benefits for its project sponsors. CUTR's multidisciplinary research staff includes experts in planning, engineering, public policy, finance, economics, and geography who develop comprehensive solutions for all modes of transportation while combining academic and real-world experience.

CUTR conducts over \$13 million in research annually for a variety of public and private sector sponsors in Florida and the U.S. Areas of research include public transportation, transportation planning, mobility policy, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), transportation safety, transportation demand management (TDM), transportation economics and finance, and corridor management, among others.