Home Members Research Laboratory

News Pictures Teaching Publications

Kuhn Group Members

 

Postdoc Scholars      
Ummuhan Cimenler ucimenler at mail.usf.edu  
Xianhui "Andy" Zhao xianhuizhao at usf.edu
Andy is from central part of China. He earned his PhD from South Dakota State University in December of 2015. He has research experience in conversion of vegetable oil to hydrocarbon biofuel, thin film solar cells, and composite material synthesis/characterization. He is currently working on the development of a novel process to convert landfill gas to liquid hydrocarbon fuels.
       

PhD Students

     
Anne Meier anne.meier at nasa.gov
Annie is from New York. She earned her B.S. and M.S. in Chemical Engineering from Manhattan College. She works for NASA at Kennedy Space Center and is a 2nd year Ph.D. student, co-advised by Venkat Bhethanabotla . She will be studying photocatalytic conversion of CO2 for Mars and Earth applications.
  Debtanu Maiti dmaiti at mail.usf.edu Debtanu is a third year PhD student co-advised by Venkat Bhethanabotla.
  Swetha Ramani swetharamani at mail.usf.edu  
Yetunde "Tosin" Sokefun ysokefun at mail.usf.edu Tosin is from Lagos, Nigeria. She obtained a bachelors degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Lagos, Nigeria. This is her first year as a PhD Student in the Chemical & Biomedical Engineering Department at USF. She will be working on low temperature dry reforming of methane. She hopes to have gained a wide knowledge of heterogeneous catalysis and its many applications (most importantly alternative energy production) at the end of her PhD program.
       

MS Students

     
Bryan Hare bryanhare at mail.usf.edu
Bryan plans to pursue a Master's degree in the USF Chemical & Biomedical Engineering Department. His focus is currently allocated to the synthesis and utilization of perovskite oxides in thermochemical cycles for carbon dioxide reduction. He obtains temperature-initiated oxygen vacancy formation profiles from mass spectrometry and characterizes crystalline structures with X-ray diffraction. "When it comes to the sustainability of energy and economics, the only way to predict the future is to create it."
Adela Ramos adelaramos at mail.usf.edu

Adela is from Tegucigalpa, Honduras. She completed her Bachelor’s Degree in Chemical Engineering at the University of South Florida and is currently pursuing her Master’s Degree. She works in a project co-advised by Dr. Venkat Bhethanabotla performing computational and experimental analysis on materials with carbon dioxide conversion capacity. 

  David Weber    
       

 

Undergraduate Students

     
  Johnnie Cairns  

 

Matthew Kastelic  

Matthew is a junior undergraduate in chemical engineering. He currently works on the biogas to liquid fuel project. He has research interest and experience in photocatalysis, reforming catalysts, GC-MS, Fischer-Tropsch synthesis, electrochemistry, and catalyst characterization. He plans to pursue a PhD with a focus on alternative energy production.

  Jeff Lowe    
  Katerina Quinn    
  Paul Stachurski  

 

Alumni Members